CHS Ski Team

Carson High Ski Team Remembers Storied Past, Looks to Bright Future
Posted on 12/13/2023
This is the image for the news article titled Carson High Ski Team Remembers Storied Past, Looks to Bright Future

In preparation for the upcoming season, the Carson High School (CHS) Senator ski team took a break from dryland training to remember the past and look towards the future. Additionally, coaches unveiled new race bids and announced this year’s team captains: Tommy Callister and Madalyn Lind Smith.

In a brief gathering, skiers and coaches took time to soak in the team’s storied and decorated history while holding numerous state trophies and honoring tenured coaches. The CHS Ski team won eight state championships under legendary coach Jack Reihnardt.

Callister noted "I learned a lot about racing from Coach Reinhardt, it’s awesome to see all the championship trophies."

Callister returns this year as a four-year varsity letterman and will be setting the pace for the boys’ squad. In addition to skiing, Callister is a straight-A student and plans to attend Montana State University, where he will continue to ski.

Lind Smith, one of the top ranking seniors academically, is in line to be a contender on the slopes again this season. After stellar performances last year, both her and Callister earned invitations to Nationals at Mt. Hood, Ore. Next year Lind Smith will be attending School in Colorado on a ski scholarship.

The future looks bright for the CHS ski team. With a full roster of nearly 20 athletes, the team includes six underclassmen, and for the first time in a few years CHS will have a complete team of girls. Now, if mother nature cooperates, Reihnhardt (who continues to volunteer his time coaching), may need to make more room in his trophy case.

Photo Cutline:
L to R (front row): Taelyn Ailes, Eva Bell, Madalyn Lind Smith, Thomas Callister, Caiden Nolan and Sean Harrington; (middle row) Ella Dooley, Elizabeth Barker, Emma Drysdale, Mark Walther, Collin Parker and Cale Coombs; (back row) Tanner McCune, Samuel Barker, Cooper Castillo and Kaden Miller.